SET YOUR DREAMS TO RAY

June 10, 2012

In which our community thanks the illustrious Ray Bradbury for his life and work.

Featuring luminaries of the Pinoy genre scene paying homage to the master: Dean Francis Alfar, Carljoe Javier, Joey Nacino, and rising star TJ Dimacali.

“In my later years I have looked in the mirror each day and found a happy person staring back. Occasionally I wonder why I can be so happy. The answer is that every day of my life I’ve worked only for myself and for the joy that comes from writing and creating. The image in my mirror is not optimistic, but the result of optimal behavior.” ~ Ray Bradbury

 

Gone to Mars: Pinoy fictionists pay respects to scifi master Ray Bradbury

BY KARL R. DE MESA June 10, 2012 4:15pm
The maestro is in the ground. Mr Bradbury died last Wednesday, June 5, peacefully “after a lengthy illness,” said his publishers at HarperCollins in a written statement. Coincidentally, that was the night of a rare transit of Venus across the face of the sun. How apt that, at 91 years of age, an exceptional celestial event would mark his passing.
After 600 short stories, dozens of books, major awards like the Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master Award, a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, a 2007 Pulitzer Prize Special Citation, and being survived by four daughters, it’s pretty certain he’d lived a full life. So why am I weeping? The tears are a surprise when I read his obit online. As I write this, I still can’t say for certain exactly why I feel such a great, heavy sorrow.Hello, I am a horror writer, and I owe a tremendous debt of gratitude to Mr Bradbury. He showed me the way early on, even before I realized I wanted to write for a living.

Back in the early 1990s RPN 9 was showing sporadic episodes of his “Ray Bradbury Theater” TV series. Spurred on by that, I read “The Sound of Thunder,” the first short story of his I ever read. With its awesome combination of time travel, dinosaurs and hunters it was an instant favorite. I mean, it had dinosaurs! As I read it again and again over the years it revealed more layers of metaphor and subtleties in just a few pages. I realized it was also a commentary on cowardice and hubris and the carelessness of men. It was also my introduction to chaos theory. The death of a butterfly can bring down an empire? Yes, said Ray. And this story of a mere several thousands words revealed to me, in crystal clarity, just exactly how.

Read the rest of it HERE.
Leave a Reply

